Image of National Weather Service's StormReady logo

StormReady is a voluntary program created by the National Weather Service to help communities prepare and protect residents from hazardous weather. StormReady is a nationwide program focused on helping community leaders and emergency managers strengthen local safety program. 

At this time there are approximately 2647 StormReady sites nationally. StormReady communities are better prepared for hazardous weather conditions through planning, education and awareness.

To be officially StormReady, a community must:

  • Establish a 24-hour warning point and emergency operations center.
  • Have more than one method of receiving severe weather forecasts and warnings, and alerting the public.
  • Create a system that monitors local weather conditions.
  • Promote public readiness through community seminars.
  • Develop a hazardous weather plan, to includes training severe weather spotters (SKYWARN) and training exercises.

Currently all 67 counties are StormReady - a total of 147 sites!

Some StormReady Supporters from Southwest Florida:

  • City of Sanibel, Community  (Lee)
  • Captiva Island, Community  (Lee)
  • City of Cape Coral, Community (Lee)
  • City of Bonita Springs (Lee)
  • Village of Estero (Lee)
  • Bonita Bay Subdivision, Supporter  (Lee)
  • The Brooks Subdivision, Supporter  (Lee)
  • Pelican Landing, Supporter  (Lee)
  • Coconut Point Shopping Center (Lee)

To become StormReady, complete the application and submit to your local NWS office.  Your application will be reviewed by StormReady Review Board, and a team will visit with you to formally discuss your applications.  

Upon approval, you will receive a formal notification letter from the local NWS Office Director, two StormReady signs and instructions for these and other benefits to your community.  

StormReady recognition is good for three years from the date of your formal announcement.  For more information, go to