Emergency Medical Services

In February 1972, Lee County took over the operations of Southern Ambulance Service and renamed it Lee County Ambulance Service. Lee County Ambulance Service started with four ambulances and 12 employees. In 1975, the ambulance service name was changed to Lee County EMS (LCEMS), and became a Florida-Licensed Advanced Life Support (ALS) Transport Provider.

Lee County EMS Historical Picture of Paramedic standing by van style ambulance dating to the 1970sLCEMS currently operates 37 ALS ambulances, two BLS transport units, three ALS non-transport units, and the LeeFlight rotor-winged air medical service. Each ALS ambulance consists, at a minimum, of a state-certified paramedic and emergency medical technician; BLS ambulance consists of two state-certified emergency medical technicians. The division's paramedics and emergency medical technicians work under the direction of the Department of Public Safety physician medical director, Dr. Joseph Lemmons, and provide care on scene and during transport to the most appropriate medical facility.

The division has been recognized nationally for innovative programs such as the Sudden Infant Death Syndrome Watch Program, Age Link Program, Community Health Program, Automatic External Defibrillator Public Facility Program, Learn-to-Swim Program, and Community Assistance Network (CAN). The division has been recognized as a recipient of Florida's Best Business and Educational Partnership Excellence Award, and in 1987, the National Association of Emergency Medical Technicians (NAEMT) selected LCEMS for the prestigious "ALS Service of the Year Award."