For Immediate Release

CONTACT:   Booch DeMarchi, Program Manager, at 335-2481

February 15, 2002



The Lee County Board of County Commissioners has announced the five finalists for the Paulette Burton Citizen of the Year Award for 2001. The finalists are: James Gillespie (N Ft Myers ), Helen Kralj ( Bonita Springs ) , John McCormack ( St James City ), Fran Myers ( Ft Myers Beach ) and Marilyn Stout ( Cape Coral. )

The winner will be announced at the 9:30 am, Tuesday, February 19, 2002 Lee County Commission meeting in the second floor chambers in the Old Lee County Courthouse (2110 Main Street in downtown Ft. Myers.)

A Board of County Commissioners appointed committee of six individuals narrowed the 16 nominations to the five finalists. The Commissioners will select the winner from that list of five.

The award was created in 1991 to honor Mrs. Burton, a long time Sanibel Island resident and Government watch dog. She spent many years serving as a voice of the people to the Lee County Board of County Commissioners as well as playing an active role in Sanibel politics. She died in a 1991 car accident.

For additional information please contact Booch DeMarchi, Program Manager, at 335-2481.